Skip to main content

We live on traditional territories


We live on traditional territories.

Land Acknowledgement for Waawayaatanong
the Carolinian Zone

Carolinian Canada Coalition acknowledges that we live on the traditional territories of many nations including the Anishinaabe, the Haudenosaunee, the Lunaapeew, the Wendat and the Mississauga. We acknowledge all Indigenous nations that still call this land home and the many diverse First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples who have moved here since.

Carolinian Canada acknowledges the inherent and treaty rights of the Indigenous peoples of Turtle Island. We acknowledge the Royal Proclamation of 1763, which serves as the basis for the treaty-making process and is the first legal recognition of aboriginal rights and titles. Carolinian Canada acknowledges all the treaties that have been signed related to this land.

We acknowledge the Two Row Wampum and the One Dish One Spoon Wampum. We commit to the teachings they hold and our duty to learning more.

Carolinian Canada acknowledges the role we must play in Indigenous reconciliation. We are committed to building relationships and working with Indigenous nations. We will continue to create safe spaces for Indigenous and non-indigenous perspectives to meet and discuss the issues that matter to everyone.

Today, many First Nations call this region home, and have historic ties and treaties to this land.

Aamjiwnaang First Nation

Bkejwanong Walpole Island First Nation

Caldwell First Nation

Chippewas of Kettle and Stony Point First Nation

Deshkan Ziibiing (Chippewas of the Thames First Nation)

Eelünaapéewi Lahkéewiit (Delaware Nation at Moraviantown)

Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation

Munsee-Delaware Nation

Oneida Nation of the Thames

Six Nations Of The Grand River